Witches and Wizards and Magical Beasts


For those of you who don’t know, there is a Harry Potter musical on YouTube. I was referred to it a year and a month ago: “Go into YouTube and search for ‘A Very Potter Musical.’ You won’t regret it.”

I didn’t.

While there are some issues while watching (video and sound quality), it’s truly fantastic to watch – and really all about laughs.

And with the twists put on the characters – how could you not burst into giggles? Harry is a guitar-playing, egotistical boy. Ron is, while still Harry’s friend, a jerk with a signature blue headband. Hermione is beyond mercilessly teased and put down. Voldemort and Quirrell have a major bro-mance. And Dumbledore is…well, you have to see for yourself.

Now one important thing that might annoy watchers is that the musical has pieces from different books placed all together in a new plotline. Harry Potter is Goin’ Back to Hogwarts and has to face many things – his love for Cho Chang (the Southern Goddess of Hogwarts), the different tasks from the Triwizard Tournament, and finally finishing Voldemort once and for all. Pieces of the first, fourth, and seventh books are all put together in a new way – and somehow, the musical manages to become its own fantastic Harry Potter book.

Unless you happen to be completely devoted to all things canon. However, I am one of those people and I just relish the characters, jokes, and songs so much that being canon doesn’t matter. I suppose it’s just all about being in the eyes of the beholder.

Oh – and watch out for Draco Malfoy. You’ll never understand him and his hope to attend Pigfarts, at least not until the sequel.

Yes, a sequel – and don’t worry, I’ll write a review for that too. 😉

A Very Potter Musical – Act 1, Part 1.

Regards,

Krista

3 Comments

Filed under Harry Potter

3 responses to “Witches and Wizards and Magical Beasts

  1. Hannah

    So obviously I epically fail at commenting since I was suppose to like a week ago. I basically just suck at remembering things lol but anyway, on to the point…

    I really really liked this! It was a little on the short side, but you went straight to point and presented some major points. Your characterizations are spot on, and I really like that you mention the sound issues. It’s not a huge problem but the quality can be pretty bad at times. Mainly I have to say that I never would have thought about the canon topic if you hadn’t mentioned it. It’s a really interesting thought that the mixture of plots could turn fans off of the musical.

    Overall I thought it was totally awesome 🙂

    • 🙂 Hey, thanks for the comment! And I do agree, it was short. I just didn’t want to give too much away. It’s so hard to talk about the musical without telling all the funny parts and just ruining the musical entirely!

  2. Hannah

    haha you’re welcome! And I definitely understand that! Every time I tell someone about it I just want to tell them all the jokes right then lol

Leave a Reply

