Nerd Things


So, I was just at Youtuber Kristina Horner’s blog and she was talking about fandoms. It got me thinking – about all the fandoms I’ve been into, and how each one has changed me just a little; how they’ve affected me.

It blows my mind. That something so simple as a TV show, book, or movie can become so important to someone just because…. Well, who really knows why?

And then, I started thinking about how many Nerd Things I’ve loved – still love.

  1. Sailor Moon
  2. Harry Potter
  3. Pokemon
  4. Naruto
  5. Fruits Basket
  6. Full Metal Alchemist
  7. Disney
  8. Doctor Who
  9. Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  10. Youtube
  11. Blogging

These define at least a piece of my life, which is surprising even to me. I’ve never thought about it, but without these fandoms I would not be myself. They’ve all contributed to who I am, and I really happen to like that.

And…it’s just so amazing that my interests have changed, yet stayed the same. I still love these things, even if I’ve moved on from many of them. I still love Pokemon, although I barely play the video games anymore. I still love Fruits Basket even though the series has finished. I still love Full Metal Alchemist, even if I’m done with the show and fanfiction.

Interesting fact, Full Metal Alchemist was the first time I ever completed a Work-In-Progress piece of fanfiction. It was horrible, but every spring I remember that time when all I thought about was writing my next chapter, was looking out the window after writing a long paragraph. Even the scent of some of my lotion still reminds me of that time.

Now, however, I’m really into Harry Potter, Youtube, and Blogging.

I constantly read Harry Potter and/or listen to the audio-books. That last one? I can honestly tell you that it’s gotten so bad that every second I’m in my room, I have a cassette playing. As of yesterday, the cassette player even started making a screeching noise – I think it’s going to break soon.

Youtube…I’ve got a channel that I share with my friends and we’re slowly learning just how awesome posting there can be. Vlogs are fantastic, and I can’t wait until I become better at editing videos, better at talking about interesting things.

And blogging? Well, here I am. Enough said. 🙂

Regards,

Krista

2 Comments

Filed under Other

2 responses to “Nerd Things

  1. OMG I love you! Sailer Moon! My favourite anime (outside of Pokemon/Digimon) that I was completely and utterly obsessed with when I was growing up – still am even 🙂

    Thought I would just share that 🙂
    *hugs!*

    • 🙂 I honestly don’t remember much about Sailor Moon, although I’ve been meaning to get back into it for years. I was only in first or second grade when I watched it, so I don’t really remember much besides my favorite character – which was the Mars girl. I had this awesome keychain of her, it rocked.

Leave a Reply

