Kenyon Overnight


It was fantastic, to say the least. Now, I’m not saying that Kenyon is the college for everyone, but it definitely seems to be the one for me.

I don’t know if whoever reads this has noticed or known, but I have loved Kenyon since my sophomore year in high school. I’ve looked at other colleges, of course, but Kenyon’s always been near and dear to my heart. I don’t know why, but it just is. It has the atmosphere I seem to be looking for.

Before my first visit, though, I was becoming wary. I wasn’t sure if I was good enough – I absolutely adored the school, but I’m not necessarily a genius. I went on this visit, thinking that it would only enforce my belief, but I was proven wrong. Yes, I did become more worried because of what everyone had to say about the standard of the college, but that first step onto Kenyon soil lit some type of fire in me. Yes, cheesy – but true. I was ecstatic to talk to the people and get to know the campus.

While at this overnight, I made three new friends that completely rock my world, and it was all in less than a day. These people do not go to Kenyon, but they are also interested – and I can honestly say that I’ve never met so many people interested in the same shows, books, or ideas as I am. It was so refreshing for me, and my elation lasted until I got in the car to go home, where I instantly got depressed and felt as if I should be kicking and screaming to stay.

Of course, it wasn’t all fun and games. I had originally been sitting in a waiting room for my host to pick me up, and when she did, I found myself feeling very shy and overwhelmed. She was welcoming and kind, but I worried that maybe I wasn’t good enough or that I wouldn’t feel at home because I was sleeping on someone else’s floor. In the end, though, it was the complete opposite.

I got to meet a few other prospies (I hope this is how Kenyon spells it, but it basically means “prospective student”) within the first fifteen minutes, and while it was rocky and overwhelming to see all the loud college kids who kept introducing themselves to me, I eventually was able to just ask the other prospies a few questions and get the ball rolling. After a while, we were hugging and teasing each other – and talking about how much we liked Bones/Doctor Who/Buffy/Nerdfighteria.

Unfortunately, I didn’t spend a lot of time with my host because of this. I ended up spending time with these prospies and their own hosts, but I don’t really mind because it was so perfect. I was having fun – we ate together and talked about school and our interests, which eventually led to us walking around campus by ourselves. We went to the bookstore, clamoring to tell each other about our favorite books (this has never happened to me and my friends from high school), and we ended up wasting money at the marketplace just so we could sit in the lounge and creep on each other’s Facebooks while we ate and played Apples to Apples. I honestly felt like I was living there already.

The next day was also very cool. Me and the other prospies weren’t led around to each place we needed to go to as if we were sheep, but we got to explore instead. We had all pretty much chosen the same meetings to attend, and so we all got to listen and sit, and then in our free time explore the campus by ourselves and get to know each other even more.

By the end of my visit, I got to sit in on a meeting about studying English at Kenyon, along with sitting in on a Psychology class. The Psychology class was only an intro class, but it was extremely interesting because it was all about sensory and auditory functions. While it’s not the type of Psychology I plan on using for my future job (clinical psychologist) it was still useful and interesting due to my parents being deaf.

The best part about my visit, though, is the fact that I’m still talking to the other prospies who were at Kenyon. The fact that I made friends so instantaneously – through only a visit – merely reinforces my idea that I will fit in perfectly with the others who go to Kenyon.

Regards,

Krista

PS. Hanover Overnight review is on its way after this – keep your eyes peeled! (And sorry this post is so incredibly long!)

Leave a comment

Filed under The College Chronicles

Leave a Reply

