I Want to Try a Japanese Toilet


So, I just finished a book a few seconds ago. It’s something my grandmother gave me, and honestly, I never would’ve picked it up if it wasn’t for that fact. I can pretty much guarantee that the majority of people who look over this post will not read this book either. It’s a book about human waste. And not so much about the human waste that is thrown in garbage cans, but the human waste that comes out of us.

Yes. I know. I was very against reading it when I first received it from my grandma.  It sat in my to-read pile for months. However, I recently was looking for a bit of a different read…And it wasn’t bad. In fact, I enjoyed it.

First of all, it’s not about the process of our bodies. This book is about waste in relation to human psychology, human society, and the future of humanity. Normally, I wouldn’t even write a post on a book like this, but the last point has struck a chord with me – and I’m sure it will with anyone else who will read this book. Overall, this book isn’t going to preach to you – it’s not going to tell you to definitely change your habits and so on. In fact, the author even says how her habits have changed, sometimes for the worse, since she began her novel.

But I want to recommend this book because it is the beginning of a change that will have to happen, whether we like it or not. The end of the book mentioned an estimated fact – that by 2050 most countries will not have enough water to live with. Two percent of water on Earth is fresh, and it’s all the same water that dinosaurs used to drink. So…it’s limited. It’s not a new concept, but this book has really changed my viewpoint on how I use water. I never drink it, but I waste it.

And honestly, I’ll be alive in 2050. I’ll be 67. It may be selfish, but I don’t want to be alive in a world that has a low source of water for the projected 8.9 billion people who will be there. I want water for everyone, but definitely for myself. Now, you can say that I’m a horrible person – I know there’ll be someone – but the fact of the matter is that you’ll probably be there too. Do you want to live in a world without fresh water?

Read it, or don’t. Although, I hope you do. Even if you don’t want the message, the facts are interesting. Who wouldn’t want to read about Japanese toilets and how they came to be?

The Big Necessity: The Unmentionable World of Human Waste and Why it Matters by Rose George.

Regards,

Krista

Leave a comment

Filed under Other

Leave a Reply

